Does the app support Dark or Night mode?
Yes, the app has built-in support for both Apple’s dark mode and Android’s night/dark mode.
What is ‘Dark mode always-on’?
This feature enables the app to remain in dark mode, regardless if your iOS or Android device is set to light or dark/night mode. This is useful if you like the darker scheme but don’t want it on for all your apps, of if your device does not support dark/night mode.
How do I turn on/off missed calls notifications?
In the Spark Voicemail app, go to Settings > Voicemail preferences, select Enable missed call to turn this feature on or off.
What does Group voicemails by caller do?
When ‘Group voicemails by caller’ is active, all voicemails from the same caller will be grouped together. To access their voicemails, select the caller’s name and open the voicemail you wish to review. When off, voicemails are shown individually in chronological order - organised by latest date received (newest shows first).
What does ‘Show transcriptions in main view’ mean?
When ‘Show transcription in main view’ is on, you'll see a preview of the first part of the transcription text in the voicemail screen. When off, you'll see just the caller name or phone number and the type of number they called from – Mobile, Home, Work etc.
What does show button labels do?
When ‘Show button labels’ is active, button labels will appear in the voicemail dialog.
How do I use the email notifications option and what does ‘filter contacts’ do?
When ‘Email Notifications’ is active, you can define up to two email addresses that will also get a copy of new voicemail messages. This can be useful if, for example, you're on holiday and have your assistant monitoring any messages left, or you're travelling and would like your assistant at the main office to respond to voicemails.
The ‘filter contacts’ feature acts as an exception list; any contacts you add here will NOT have their voicemails forwarded by email. This is useful, for example, with voicemails from close family or friends that you may not want to be sent to your assistant.
The transcription is not always correct, why is that?
Transcription uses audio from the voicemails, processed through a vast cloud-based Audio-to-Text processing engine. In some circumstances some words may be transcribed incorrectly due to how the caller pronounces a word, the level of background noise or if the name or word is unknown. Our testing feedback showed that customers find transcriptions useful even when they contain the odd error. This will improve over time as more customers use the service.
How long are the messages kept?
Messages are kept for as long as you keep them on your device. At this time there is no expiry or automatic deletion of old messages or messages you have in your ‘Recently deleted’ folder.
It's up to you to manage how long you keep them. In the future we may introduce a time period where messages in the recently deleted folder are automatically deleted after three months.
I have a voicemail that I want to keep permanently, how can I do that?
If you have a message that you want to keep for the long-term, we suggest that you use the app’s ‘Share’ option for that specific voicemail and save or send it by any means available and convenient to you.
I have deleted a voicemail that I really needed; how can I get it back?
When you first delete a voicemail, it's stored in the app’s ‘Recently deleted’ folder, accessible from settings - you can recover the voicemail from this menu. If you have deleted it twice, both from 'My Voicemails' and 'Recently Deleted', your voicemail cannot be recovered.
I forgot some of the features, can I see how they work again?
You can view the tutorial again from the app’s Settings menu. This will take you through its various views and provide an overview of the functionality available.
What does ‘transcription pending’ mean?
‘Transcription pending’ means that the voicemail’s audio has arrived on your device - so you can press play and listen - but its transcription wording is still in the process of being generated. It will arrive shortly.
Is there a limit on the number of messages that can be stored?
In general, there is no limit, but practically each message does take up some space on your device, so it will use and is limited by your phone’s storage. We have tested storing an excess of 300 messages with no issues.
I have accidentally reset/changed my diversions – how do I get it back to the right voicemail number?
You can reactivate your diversion by going into the Spark Voicemail app, see steps below:
For Android mobiles:
Select settings > Voicemail Setup > Activate Call Forwarding. Select Call when prompted.
For iOS mobiles:
Select Settings > Manage call forwarding settings > Activate Call Forwarding. Select Call when prompted.
If ‘Deactivate call forwarding’ is shown, you can proceed to ‘Deactivate’ and follow the instructions above to ‘Reactivate’. This will reset to the correct Network Diversion number.
I don’t want to use the app anymore, how do I go back to receiving voicemails?
If you no longer want to use the Spark Voicemail app, either at the end of the trial or at any other time, you'll need to stop call forwarding to the app. See steps below:
Go to Settings > Voicemail Setup > Deactivate call forwarding.
This will reset your voicemail to the previous voicemail solution. You can now cancel your Spark Voicemail subscription by opening your App Store’s or Google Play Store’s subscription management screen. Or via the Spark Voicemail's app:
Settings > My Subscription > Manage subscription to cancel your subscription.
The voicemails you had in the app will remain there until the app is uninstalled. They will not be available on your previous voicemail solution. New callers leaving a message will now go to your voicemail box. You may want to check the setup for this by calling 083210 and following the prompts.